Home > Canada, TV and Movies > The Canadian Digital TV Switch – Myth vs Fact

The Canadian Digital TV Switch – Myth vs Fact

News reports, advertisements, and telemarketers are operating at full speed with the transition from analog to digital TV transmission just a couple of days away.  The misinformation is driving me absolutely nuts, so I wanted to take a minute to clear up some myths I’ve been hearing.

Myth: On August 31, your rabbit ears will stop working
Fact: On August 31, your rabbit ears will continue to work but instead of fuzzy analog TV you’ll now get crisp high definition digital TV

Myth: If you get your TV via antenna today, you need to switch to cable or satellite
Fact: If you get your TV via antenna today, your newer HDTVs will get more channels tomorrow. If you have an older TV, a relatively cheap digital TV converter is all you need

Myth: The only way to get a HDTV signal is through cable or satellite
Fact: All TVs sold today include a digital tuner for free over-the-air HDTV

Myth: Over the air TV is dead in Canada
Fact: There has never been a better time to get your TV by antenna.  The majority of Canadians can get the majority of their TV programming for free using an antenna. Toronto residents can expect to get 25+ channels of digital TV from all the major networks, 30+ in Montreal, 15+ in Vancouver, and the list goes on.

Myth: The CRTC is forcing cable companies to switch from analog to digital
Fact: Many cable companies are choosing to switch entirely to digital, but that is entirely their choice and has nothing to do with the over-the-air switch or government mandates.

The digital switch is a good-news story, and an opportunity for Canadians to re-think that $100 (or more) cable bill now that most of the TV they watch is available in high-definition for free.  I’ve written additional in-depth articles that will help you determine what channels you can get at your home, and some instructions on how to install your own antenna for less than what some people pay for one month of cable.

I’ve noticed this week that there are plenty of unscrupulous telemarketers, uninformed salesmen, and headline-seeking news outlets who are using this digital transition to serve a different agenda.  For just the raw facts, the Government of Canada’s digital transition website is the place to go.

Enjoy the new world of HDTV coming to Canada, I know I will!

Categories: Canada, TV and Movies
  1. February 5, 2012 at 3:01 am

    When one landscapes issue at hand, I need to believe in your results. You understandably display knowledge about this matter and i?ve significantly to learn searching at your publish.Quite a few salutations and that i arrive back for any more

    Hey there, You\\\’ve performed a fantastic job with regards to blog.I undoubtedly digg it and for my part recommend to my friends. I?m positive they will be benefited from this website. Thank you 1,000,000 and please carry on the rewarding

    Thanks for finding the time to discuss this, I must say i really feel strongly over it and really like learning extra on this subject matter. If achievable, when you accomplish knowledge, would you mind updating your website site with additional information? It really is very useful

    It?s really a excellent and useful piece of facts. I?m glad that you just shared this useful info with us. Please keep us knowledgeable such as this. Thanks for sharingHey there, cool web page. I actually came upon this about Bing, and i am stoked I did so. I am going to definately become revisiting proper below a great deal more frequently. Need I could add round the post and provide slightly much more on the table, nevertheless am just ingesting as considerably info as I can about the secondknowing from you, as I?m producing my way to the key too. I undoubtedly get pleasure from studying every little thing that is posted with your web site.Maintain the info coming. I liked itone views problem accessible, I have to believe within your conclusions. You understandably show expertise about it subject and i use a lot to discover looking at your post.A lot of salutations and that i arrive back again for any additional improvements

    I carry on listening to your news update lecture about obtaining boundless on the net scholarhip applications so I?ve been looking around for the finest website to get one. Might you tell me please, where could i get several?posting! I truly enjoyed looking at it, you will be an excellent author.I will be certain to bookmark your blog post and will eventually come back in the future. I want to inspire you continue your own great writing, possess a

    Extremely valuable message
    It is remarkable, it is very useful phrase
    On acquire the theme is very interesting. I suggest most to take part in discussion more

    It?s actually a pleasant and helpful little bit of information and facts. I?m glad that you simply shared this helpful info with us. You should maintain us educated like this. Thanks for sharing.your site via Google during your search for a related topic, your site came up, the idea looks good. I?ve book-marked it in my search engines

    Hey, cool web-site. I genuinely discovered this on Yahoo, and i am stoked I did. I\\\’m likely to definately be revisiting right right here a whole lot more often. Need I could add throughout the write-up and deliver a small bit a lot a lot more for your table, but am just absorbing since substantially data when i can in the moment

    I will recommend to come on the site on which there are lots of articles on this problem.
    I consider, that you aren\\\’t right.
    I advise to you to come over a site where there is much information on a theme fascinating you. Will not regret

    This is very interesting, You?re a really skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and look forward to in search of more of your wonderful post. Also, I?ve distributed your web site during my social networks!what you have done here. It\\\’s pleasing to look a person express from the center and your clarity about this significant content can be easily looked. Remarkable publish and will look forward to the

    Very nice post. I simply discovered your blog and desired to say that I?ve really enjoyed browsing your current weblog posts. No matter the reason I will be subscribing on your rss feed and I?m wanting you write once more before long

    Hey! Someone during my Facebook group shared this site with us therefore i came to check it out. I?m definitely loving the information. I?m social bookmarking and will be tweeting this to be able to my followers! Great blog and great style and design.happened over here different site and thought I will check things away. I like what I observe so i am just following you. Look forward to finding out about your web site repeatedly.Can you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group? There?s a lot of folks that I think would certainly really enjoy your content. You should let me know. Many thanksMany thanks for another informative site. Where else might I get that type of information written in this kind of ideal way? I?ve a project that I am at the moment working on, and I have been receiving the look out regarding

    Hello there, You have done a fantastic job. I?ll definitely delicious it and individually recommend to my girlfriends. I am sure they will be taken advantage of

    An attention-grabbing debate is price opinion. I think that you need to create more on this subject, it won?t be a taboo issue however generally individuals are not enough to speak about such topics. To another

    It displays how well you appreciate this subject. Bookmarked this page,thanks god someone that actually knows what they are talking about – many thanks

    Thank you for being the actual tutor on this place. My spouse and i enjoyed your current article very much and a lot of all cherished the way you handled the facet I regarded as controversial. You happen to be always fairly kind towards viewers like me and help me in my lifestyle

    Hi there! This is my 1st comment here so I simply wanted to give a quick holler out and declare I truly enjoy examining your blog posts. Could you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums in which deal with the same topics? Thank you so much!this is kind of of away topic but I was wondering if sites use WYSIWYG editors or even if you have to manually signal with HTML. I?m commencing a blog before long but have no html coding knowledge so I planned to get guidance via someone with knowledge. Any help could be

    Hello. I wanted to drop which you quick note to convey my thanks. For a nice and following your blog for a month or so and still have picked up a ton of good information in addition to enjoyed the way you?ve methodized your site.day time! This is my 1st visit to your blog! We\\\’re a collection of volunteers and starting a new initiative inside a community in the very same niche. Your blog offered us beneficial details to work on. You have done a marvellous task!may be up for dialogue quite many instances however, not one of the posts have been as thorough since yours. Admin I must see such top quality posts from you later on.to express that I appreciate and also thank you for this great website. Looking forward to the next one, I?m sure it will be just as superb. I am a newbie for this sort of thing and you have given me some great stuff to explore. Thank you!useful web site. Where else could I get that sort of information written in such an ideal way? I?ve the project that I am just now working on, and I have been on the look out pertaining to

    I\\\’m really enjoying the theme/design of your respective blog. Do you ever come upon any browser being compatible problems? A small number of my blog readers possess complained about my web site not working correctly throughout Explorer but looks great in Firefox. Do you have any tips to help fix this issue

    This is a really good go through for me, Must confess that you are one of the best blog owners I ever saw.Thanks for posting this helpful

    Howdy! Somebody in my Myspace party shared this site around so I came to check it out. I?m definitely loving the knowledge. I?m bookmarking and will be tweeting this kind of to my followers! Superb blog and

    Recently, I did not give a great deal of thought to leaving comments on location page reports and possess placed responses perhaps less. Reading through your enjoyable submit, will assist me for this sometimes.I really enjoyed reading your blog post, and it looks wonderful. If you get a chance you need to check my site as well. I hope you use a

    Right after research a number of of the weblog posts on your own web site now, i truly like your method of blogging. I saved it to my personal bookmark web site file and might be looking at back soon. Please take a look at my internet site as well and let me know

    I had been thankful to obtain a call coming from a friend as soon as they observed the important points contributed on your site. Considering your blog publication is indeed a brilliant experience. Thank you for taking into account visitors like me, and I would like for you the best of achievement like a professional sphere.written information. It will be good to everyone who employess the idea, as well as myself. Keep up the good work!Person I love your post in fact it is so fabulous and I am gonna save this. One thing to say fantastic analysis this publish has is trully impressive.Who goes that extra mile these days? Excellent Work.a lot for adding this site post to your site. I was searching for this information for 2-3 days however was unsuccessful in finding any info on this

    I am delighted to see a post properly documentated, like yours but the comments are very poor. In fact, all of them are only spammy comments which should be deleted very fast. Thanks a lot !passion in the work you\\\’re writing. The world hopes for more passionate writers just like you who aren?t afraid to convey how they believe. Often go after your coronary heart.changed into aware of your blog through Google, and found that it?s really informative. I?m going to watch out for brussels. I\\\’ll appreciate when you continue this in future. Many other people will likely be had good results out of your writing. All the best!owner I believe the content material here is rattling wonderful , enjoy it for your hard work. You must keep it up forever! Good Luck.Great writing here I really really like the way you compose your blogs. I\\\’ll continue to visit your web site in the future to read a lot more great blog posts just like it! This is an awesome post here. love on

    I became very encouraged to come across this site. The reason being that this can be such an informative publish. I wanted to thank a person for this informative go through of the subject. We ate every bit of it and I have you book-marked to check out new issues you post.providing such a great write-up, it was excellent and intensely informative. as a first-time visitor to your weblog I am very impressed. I found a lot of informative stuff in your article. Keep it up. Thank you.Such a write!! Very useful also easy to understand. Looking for more such posts!! Do you have a myspace? I recommended it in digg. The only thing in which it?s missing is a bit of the latest design. Anyway thank you for

    I ran into these pages on accident, astonishingly, this is a amazing site. The site owner offers carried out a superb job of putting it together, the info here\\\’s really and beneficial when i do research. You just secured yourself a guarenteed readers.and effort you put into your site and in depth data you offer. It?s good to come across a blog site every once in a while that isn?t the same outdated rehashed material. Great read! I?ve book-marked your site and I?m as well as your RSS feeds to my Google account.Exceptional Facts? I found this blog website incredibly late.. really am searching these kinds of blogs for my future reference.. thank you for sharing these kinds of an excellent blog site.Good information and facts, actually \\\’m searching for this type information. after good deal of search i discovered this specific publish.search I found this publish. Thnaks for sharing beneficial data? Recently I have began a blog site relating to General Info. I recently watched the various blogs, how they?re posting.. your blog posts browsing

    Thank you for another interesting article. Where else could any person get that kind of information in such a complete way of writing? I have a presentation inward bound week, and I am looking for such informationthe valuable information you offer in your content articles. I will bookmark your blog and have my friends examination here often. I am quite sure they\\\’ll learn lots of brand-new stuff here as compared to anybody else!genuinely enjoying the design as well as layout of your web site. It?s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasurable for me to come right here and visit more regularly. Did you employ out a custom to create your design? Exceptional workviews issue at hand, I have to believe in your findings. You understandably display knowledge about this theme and i?ve significantly to understand searching at your submit.Quite a few salutations and that i occur back for any even more updates.You\\\’ve got performed a fantastic job about blog.I definitely digg it as well as my part advise to my friends. I?m positive they will be benefited from this website. Thank you 1,500,000 and please carry on the gratifying

    Thanks for finding the time to discuss this, I truly really feel strongly regarding it and really like learning extra on this topic. If achievable, as you accomplish knowledge, could you mind updating your blog post site with extra information? It really is very helpful

    It?s really a great and useful bit of facts. I?m glad that you shared this helpful info with us. Remember to keep us knowledgeable this way

    I?m even now being familiar with from you, as I?m producing my way to the key too. I definitely get pleasure from studying almost everything that is posted inside your web site.Maintain the info coming. I liked

    When one views problem at hand, I have to believe inside your conclusions. You with good reason show expertise about it subject and i possess a lot to discover seeking at your post.A lot of salutations and that i arrive rear for any additional revisions

    I carry on playing your news up-date lecture about getting boundless on the net offer applications so I?ve been searching around for the very best website to get one. Can you tell me please, exactly where could i get some

    Thanks for one?s marvelous publishing! I truly enjoyed looking at it, you will be an incredible author.I will be certain to bookmark your blog post and will eventually return in the future. I want to encourage you continue your own great writing, use a

    Extremely valuable message
    It can be remarkable, it is very valuable phrase
    On my own the theme is pretty interesting. I suggest almost all to take part in discussion far more

    It?s actually a good and helpful little bit of information and facts. I?m glad that you shared this helpful info with us. Please maintain us informed like this. Thanks for expressing.your site via Google during your search for a related matter, your site came up, this looks good. I?ve book-marked it in my yahoo and google bookmarks.I\\\’m able to recommend to come with a site on which there are many articles on this question.
    I consider, that you are not right.
    I suggest to you to come over a site where there is much information on a theme interesting you. Will not rue

    This is very interesting, You?re a really skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and look forward to searching for more of your fantastic post. Also, I?ve shared your web site in my

    Simply, admirable that which you have done here. It\\\’s pleasing to look you express from the coronary heart and your clarity with this significant content can be easily looked. Remarkable post and will look forward to your own

    Very nice post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and planned to say that I?ve actually enjoyed browsing your weblog posts. In any case I will be subscribing on the rss feed and I?m hoping you write once more shortly

    Hey! Someone inside my Facebook group contributed this site with us so I came to check it out. I?m absolutely loving the information. I?m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Fantastic blog and amazing

    We happened over here different site and thought I may check things out and about. I like what I observe so i am merely following you. Look forward to finding out about your web web site repeatedly.Would you mind if I share your blog with my own myspace group? There?s a lot of folks that I think might really enjoy your content. You should

    Thank you for another informative internet site. Where else can I get that form of information written in this kind of ideal way? I?ve a project that I am at the moment working on, and I have been getting the look out with regard to such information.You have done a fantastic job. I?ll definitely delicious it and privately recommend to my friends. I am sure they will be benefited from this web site.discussion is price opinion. I think that you need to create more on this topic, it won?t be a taboo topic however generally individuals are not enough to speak upon such topics. To another

    It displays how well you understand this subject. Bookmarked this article,thanks god someone that actually knows what they\\\’re talking about – many thanks

    Thank you for being the actual tutor on this region. My spouse and i enjoyed your current article very much and a lot of all cherished the method that you handled the factor I regarded as debatable. You happen to be always fairly kind towards readers like me and assist me in my lifestyle

    Hi there! This is my 1st remark here so I wanted to give a quick yell out and declare I truly enjoy examining your blog posts. Could you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums which deal with the same subjects? Thank you so much!that is kind of of off of topic but I became wondering if sites use WYSIWYG editors as well as if you have to manually rule with HTML. I?m beginning a blog quickly but have no html coding knowledge so I planned to get guidance via someone with knowledge. Any help could be greatly appreciated!Hi. I wanted to drop you a quick note to state my thanks. I have been following your blog for a month or so and possess picked up a heap of good information in addition to enjoyed the way you?ve methodized

    Good evening! This is my 1st visit to your blog! We\\\’re a collection of volunteers and beginning a new initiative in a community in the identical niche. Your blog offered us beneficial data to work on. You have carried out a marvellous work

    It subject continues to be up for dialogue quite many instances and not one of the posts have been as thorough while yours. Admin I have to see such top quality posts from you later on.to say that I appreciate as well as thank you for this great internet site. Looking forward to the next one, I?m certain it will be just as outstanding. I am a newbie to the sort of thing and you have given me some very nice stuff to explore. Thank you

    Thanks for another informative web site. Where different could I get that sort of information written in this ideal way? I?ve a new project that I am at the moment working on, and I have been on the look out regarding

    This is a really good examine for me, Must disclose that you are one of the best writers I ever found.Thanks for posting this educational article.An individual in my Myspace group shared this site with us so I came to check it out. I?m definitely loving the data. I?m bookmarking and will be tweeting this particular to my fans! Superb blog along with

    A few weeks ago, I did not give a lots of thought to leaving comments on-page page reports and possess placed responses even less. Reading through your enjoyable submit, will assist me to do this sometimes.I truly enjoyed reading your blog post, and it looks wonderful. If you get a chance you need to check my website as well. I hope you have a very great day!Right after research a number of with the weblog posts in your web site now, and i also truly like your method of blogging. I book marked it to my personal bookmark web site record and might be examining back soon. Please take a look at my web page as well and let me know

    I had been privileged to obtain a call from a friend as soon as he or she observed the important points shared on your site. Investigating your blog publication is a real brilliant experience. Thank you for taking into account visitors like me, and I desire for you the best of accomplishment like a professional sphere.composed information. It will be best for everyone who employess that, as well as myself. Maintain

    Person I love your post which is so fabulous and I am gonna save it. One thing to say the Superb analysis this publish has is trully impressive.Who goes which extra mile these days? Fantastic

    Thanks quite a bit for adding this web site post to your web site. I was searching for these records for 2-3 days but was unsuccessful in locating any info on this anywhere else!pleased to see a post well documentated, like yours nevertheless the comments are very undesirable. In fact, all of them are just spammy comments which should be deleted very fast. Many thanks !enthusiasm in the work you are writing. The world hopes for more passionate writers as you who aren?t afraid to say how they believe. Often go after your coronary heart.become aware of your blog via Google, and positioned that it?s really useful. I?m going to watch out for brussels. I am going to appreciate when you carry on this in future. Many other people will likely be had good results out of your writing. Many thanks

    As I site possessor I believe the content substance here is rattling wonderful , enjoy it for your hard work. You should keep it up forever! Good Luck.Great writing here I genuinely really like the way you write your blogs. I\\\’ll continue to visit your website in the future to read a lot more great blog posts just like it! This is an awesome publish here. love on

    I had been very encouraged to find this site. The reason being that that is such an informative submit. I wanted to thank a person for this informative examine of the subject. I ate every bit of it and I have you saved to check out new issues you post.supplying such a great post, it was excellent and very informative. as a very first time visitor to your website I am very satisfied. I found a lot of helpful stuff in your write-up

    What a write!! Very informative also easy to understand. Trying to find more such articles!! Do you have a myspace? We recommended it in digg. The only thing that will it?s missing is a bit of recent design. Anyway appreciate this blog.this site on accident, amazingly, this is a amazing website. The site owner features carried out a superb work of putting that together, the info the following is really and useful when i do research. You merely secured yourself a guarenteed viewer.and effort you put into your site and in depth details you offer. It?s good to come across a website every once in a while that isn?t the same outdated rehashed content. Great read! I?ve book marked your site and I?m in addition to your RSS feeds to my own

    Exceptional Facts? I found this blog website incredibly late.. actually am searching this sort of blogs for my future reference.. appreciate your sharing these kinds of an excellent blog site.Wonderful information and facts, actually am searching for this type data. after good deal of search i discovered this specific publish.lookup I found this submit. Thnaks for sharing worthwhile data? Recently I have started a blog web page relating to General Info. I recently watched the numerous blogs, how they?re submitting.. your blog posts browsing really good.an additional interesting article. Where else could anyone get that kind of data in such a complete way with words? I have a presentation inward week, and I am searching for

    I admire the valuable information an individual offer in your content articles. I will bookmark your site and have my friends check-up here often. I am quite sure they are going to learn lots of brand new stuff here than

    I?m truly enjoying the design along with layout of your internet site. It?s a very easy on the sight which makes it much more pleasurable for me to come the following and visit more often. Did you use out a artist to create your style? Exceptional work

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

