Home > Front Page, Travel > Has anyone ever left O’Hare ontime?

Has anyone ever left O’Hare ontime?

Oh I just love connecting via O’Hare.  For this flight I “took one for the team” and flew BUF-ORD-MSP instead of a direct YYZ-MSP and saved the company $1000.  The warm and fuzzy feeling of saving money is going away right… about… now.
I should start keeping stats of my personal ontime performance flying through Chicago, officially the average last year was 75% ontime but I think my personal stats are closer to 50%.  The worst experience was when flying with a group of colleagues a couple of years ago when a Blizzard hit.  I had a Las Vegas vacation to start the next day, so I worked my a** off to get home in time to pick up the wife and make it to Vegas on-time.  I bounced across a couple of different flights and airlines eventually making it all the way to the runway before the pilots gave in to mother nature. 
Of course all of my colleagues, not caring so much about going to Vegas with their wives the next day, had already checked in to the Ohare Hilton and were sending me drunken heckles via Blackberry.
This one’s not so bad (yet).  It looks like a 1-hour delay but still, that’ll get me in to Buffalo at about 1:00am and there’s another 90 minute drive back to Toronto.  I might end up getting a hotel in Buffalo so I don’t doze off and plow into oncoming traffic on the drive home.
I remember when I was 22 travel was glamorous and exciting, oh how naive I was!

Categories: Front Page, Travel
  1. Nick
    August 21, 2006 at 6:37 pm

    I think I still have those emails – they weren’t “drunken heckles” more of just comments that you shouldn’t try to beat the system and should return to enjoy an evening with the rest of your team-mates. As it was, you flew out about 4-5 hours LATER than we did the following day, while we enjoyed a nice dinner and a wonderful stay at a world class hotel onsite @ the airport. I think if I remember correctly you got bussed to a HoJo at like 3am.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

