Home > Family, Front Page > Turn down your AC, I want to get home!

Turn down your AC, I want to get home!

I’m out in Regina, Saskatchewan today and just checked in on the weather forecast back home in Toronto.  Holy Schmokes, 48 degrees humidex!  Heat waves always sound more alarming in farhrenheit, which for the record will be a steamy 118 degrees.
I went out and bought a fancy Energy-Star air conditioner recently so I consider myself to be immune from my own advice, but all you other energy hogs out there had better go easy on the air conditioning.  I want to get home tomorrow to have anniversary dinner with the wife, and I’m reminded of almost three years ago to the day when I was in Miami and desperate to get home for my sister’s wedding.  At that time, all you people in the northeast US and southwestern Ontario were lavishly churning the AC and blew out the entire grid.  Since I wasn’t there, it couldn’t have been my fault so I’ll point my long finger from up on my ivory tower at everyone else.  J’accuse!
Now that we’ve established that it was clearly your fault that I almost missed my sister’s wedding three years ago, let’s refocus on today.  It’s stinkin hot, and I know you want to once again crank up that AC.  But resist the urge…  think to yourself “Pete doesn’t want to get stuck in Regina for a week, maybe I’ll just sweat it out”.  If everyone just thinks of me today, we should get through the day without incident.  If however you ignore my needs and blow the grid again, I’m going to be mighty angry at all of you.
Thank you for your attention to my comfort, good day.

Categories: Family, Front Page
  1. Nick
    August 1, 2006 at 12:21 pm

    Oh man, that’s just too good to pass up. Put my AC down to 50 degrees just for you man. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

