Home > Uncategorized > Trying out OpenDNS and I like it

Trying out OpenDNS and I like it

Due to a server crash several months ago several articles were lost.  If you came to this link looking for DVD to WMV archiving options please click here. 

Based on some articles a couple of days ago, I decided to give OpenDNS a try. They promise to deliver a faster DNS service, with more interesting features like phishing detection and typo correction.

I was skeptical, I mean sure they can provide cool features but can they really provide faster DNS service than my ISP’s local servers? I did a couple of traceroutes and was shocked to discover two things:

  • my ISP’s DNS server is not local at all, it appears to be outsourced
  • OpenDNS servers were reached in an average of 20ms faster

Interesting. I’m warming up to this idea now, since the physical travel time isn’t an issue now I’m willing to give them a chance to prove that the software itself is superior in both performance and functionality. They make a strong case on their site for some of the fundamental changes they’ve made to DNS and why they are needed. One concept that stuck me is that while home internet speeds have increased immensely, the number of DNS requests your computer makes per second has gone through the roof (both because you’re requesting things faster and I assume because page makeup has gotten significantly more complex). If DNS isn’t up to speed, then suddenly this basic service can start to become the bottleneck.

So am I impressed? Well here’s what I’ve noticed:

  1. No complaints from the wife. This is a router-level change and so it affects everyone in the house. She hasn’t noticed, which is a good thing.
  2. Page loads certainly aren’t any slower. In fact they might be just a little faster at initial page draw, but I have no data with which to back up that claim.
  3. My every day typos are gone. Ahhh, now that’s nice. I still do alot of browsing by typing in the URL bar, and I’m very happy with the fast and correct replacement of my fat-fingered web addresses. It’s like a dialing wand for your router.
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. July 12, 2006 at 1:00 pm

    Glad OpenDNS is working well for you. Please do tell us what else we can do to improve your Internet through the DNS.

    Cheers,

    John Roberts
    OpenDNS

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

