Home > Media Center > Command-line shortcuts for Media Center (ehshell.exe)

Command-line shortcuts for Media Center (ehshell.exe)

There are cases where you need to be able to launch MCE into a
specific part of the application.  This can be accomplished by calling
ehshell.exe with the apprproate command-line switches.

Use the following command-line syntax:
%systemroot%ehomeehshell.exe /homepage:page /pushstartpage:true

Where page is one of the following .xml files:

  • Main Menu:             Home.xml
  • My TV:                 VideoHome.xml
  • Fullscreen TV:         VideoFullscreen.xml
  • Recorded TV:           VideoRecordedPrograms.xml
  • Scheduled Recordings:  VideoToBeRecorded.xml
  • My Videos:             VideoCollection.xml
  • My Pictures:           Photos.xml
  • Radio:                 Radio.xml
  • My Music:              Audio.Home.xml
  • Guide:                 VideoGuide.xml
  • Setup Wizard:          Fr.Welcome.xml
  • Settings:              Options.Home.xml

With information from Bob Cook.

Reposted this article from the internet archives, seems it was lost to the great database failure of 2006.

Categories: Media Center
  1. Darin Edwards
    November 6, 2006 at 3:03 pm

    Hello,

    I am recieving a blank screen with sound after upgrading from MCE 2004 to MCE 2005. AT first I had a Ehshell error and could not bring up my tv screen at all but now that seems to be resolved. Now I get sound with no picture.
    I am frustrated because I do not want to “F” disk back to original state. I like my tv on my Sony Vaio.

    Can you help?

    Darin
    Kentucky

  2. November 6, 2006 at 3:09 pm

    Darin, you may also need to upgrade your DVD player software. MCE relies pretty heavily on the MPEG-2 codec in the DVD player to render video, and I recall that there was a requirement for an upgrade from MCE2004 to 2005 (it seems so long ago).

    What DVD program does your Vairo have on it, and does Sony offer an upgraded version for you perhaps?

  3. Sean
    January 19, 2007 at 5:22 pm

    I only use Media Center for TV and the TV Guide…now I can launch directly to the guide!

    Thank You Thank You Thank You!

  4. Edwin
    February 16, 2007 at 6:27 am

    Hi,

    Is there a way to programm the videorecorder without actually starting MCE on the TV ? Something like a command line saying something like: record ch01 22:00 23:00 ?
    (record on channel 01 from 10pm to 11pm ?)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

