Home > Media Center > Vista MCE – my favourite change

Vista MCE – my favourite change

There are lots of articles out there right now with a somewhat detailed look at MCE in Vista beta 2, and heck I may even post one myself at some point.  But, there is one major item that has been at the very top of my feature request list for years that they’ve addressed and I want to publicly give kudos for the change.

No third-party applications are required for core functions to operate.  Sounds simple, but for years you would have to install a MPEG-2 decoder in order for TV functions to work.  You’d need to buy or find yet another application from Sonic to get the built-in DVD burning to work.  It was ugly, and since everyone was using something different it quite often didn’t work.

Those days are gone – now you can install Vista from the box at Best Buy, click onto Media Center to record a TV show, and then burn that show onto DVD to take with you on the plane all without lifting a finger.  Now that my tester box is finally working again (hardware issues) I ran this scenario through on the weekend and wouldn’t you know it – I was up an running in no time with no hassles.

Good stuff, and thanks Microsoft for making this change!

Categories: Media Center
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

