Home > Family, Front Page > Switched photo album to Flickr

Switched photo album to Flickr

Due to a server crash several months ago, several articles have gone missing.  If you came to this link looking for information about windows media connect, please click here

You may have noticed that the photo album has been down for awhile. I decided several weeks ago that the pictures of my kids and the pictures of my nephews should not be posted to the general internet. There are too many bad people on the internet that have ruined the spirit of sharing and community that I wish could exist. I took down the photo galley until I got a chance to redo the album area to require some sort of password. To that end, I’m outsourcing the photo gallery to a very cool new company called Flickr.

Technology readers of my blog probably already know about Flickr, as it’s gotten tons of press over the last year. It is a social photo networking site, where people can share photos, let the other users tag them up and rate them, and generally to create a community around photography. This small Vancouver company got bought out by Yahoo a few months ago and their good fortune contines.

To keep things simple, you can still get access to the photos here at thenears.com and to do so you’ll need to email me and get a password to give you full access to the photos. If I know who you are, I’ll give you a password. Additionally, for those of you who are interested in getting some very cool toys fom Flickr you can sign yourself up for a Flickr account, let me know and I’ll add you to my Flickr private albums so that you can have access to:

  • All of our family pictures
  • Ability to comment on photos
  • Add your own tags
  • Get slideshows
  • Have the pictures show up as a screensaver automatically
  • Upload your own photos
  • Much more

I will be uploading the photo archive over the next few months, newest photos first. Flickr has a 2GB limit per month on uploads for pro accounts, and I have 6GBs of images amassed so it will take a few months (where “a few” = 3).

One of the cooler things about Flickr is the ability navigate through images via tags. For example, you might come across a picture that is tagged with “katlynnear”. If you click on “katlynnear” you will see all the other photos of Katlyn that we have as well. Give it a try!

Categories: Family, Front Page
  1. May 11, 2006 at 12:17 am

    Hi Pete!
    You don’t mention that you’ve also abandoned the WordPress Connexions theme and the Gallery2 interface that you yourself developed for it. In addition to the privacy reason, I presume that you had too much php coding to do! I am still using your connexions for G2, but had a lot of mods when upgrading to Gallery 2.2.1. I still think Gallery2 is great – and it DOES have the possibility to restrict access to selected visitors. And its still free. I’ll continue to visit your site. Nice reading. Hi to all.

    Martin

  2. May 11, 2006 at 8:55 am

    Indeed this is true…

    Why did I abandon G2? As you state it is still a good tool, but I personally found that permissions on G2 were somewhat more difficult for the layperson than they would be with Flickr. To set up perms in G2 you need to manage it via the administrative interface for each folder, and it’s a few clicks to get to. This site will be used by all of my family who doesn’t have the patience to dig into that detail. With Flickr, you can set a default and then when you do an upload with Uploadr it asks a pretty simple question – Public, Private, Family, or Friends? Done.

    Why did I abandon Connections? I just didn’t have time to bring it up to WP2.0 standards by myself and the original author didn’t have the time either it would appear. Connections simply didn’t work with the new tool I’m using (falbum)… it has always been a very nonstandard theme. When things broke, I took the path of least resistance and went with a more modern theme (Binary Blue). Someone over at wpg2.ozgreg.com picked up maintenance of the WPG2 Connections theme.

    G2 is a great tool, I’m not saying that anyone should get rid of it. But for my situation, I decided to go with a hosted Flickr solution. The Gallery developers don’t seem to be focusing on ease of use right now, it’s more about feature implementation (which is fine) and seem somewhat violently anti-Windows. What Gallery really needs is a revamped uploading tool that is easy to use and works well on Windows. Gallery remote is not that tool. I also really like some of the things that have been done with the Flickr API.

  3. May 27, 2006 at 4:20 pm

    I appreciated your work with Connections for WPG2. I understand the reasons for not continuing, and sometimes I wonder if I’m in over my head as well.

  4. June 8, 2006 at 10:19 am

    it should be noted that falbum is also a very non-standard plugin. it’s possible to get them to play nice together, however.

    http://www.randombyte.net/wiki/falbum/connections

  5. November 2, 2006 at 9:34 am

    Sorry for your time…. Why i can’t see images on this resource?
    My Browser is: Opera.
    Thank you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

