Home > Travel > In love again – with a car rental company

In love again – with a car rental company

I’m obsessing over the minutea of travel, I know.  Let me tell you why I’ve fallen back in love with National Car Rental…  I was in Miami a few weeks ago and having trouble finding a car.  The usual suspects were either out of cars or were taking advantage of spring break and trying to gouge me on price.  So I wandered over to National to see what they could do for me.  They pulled up my old emerald club account, gave me a car at a great rate, and let me pick it out myself.  I like it when people who could choose to be sleazy don’t; they deserve a reward.

So, since that date I’ve done all my reservations with National and my pleasure continues.  Marketing messaging aside, they really do make travel for me easy.  Reserve a midsize car, pick up whatever car you want.  If you’re freakishly tall, go ahead try out a couple and pick the one that fits you best (don’t think that’s the actual policy, but that’s how I use it).  I’m driving an SUV right now and paying less than my corporate midsize rate would have been with Hertz.

Keep up the good work National!

Categories: Travel
  1. Dave
    April 24, 2006 at 10:11 am

    Peter-

    You helped me out a while back with my MCE build…well, now I’m an addict. Where have you been on that front? Somebody needs to lead the charge to get us a dual HD tuner on the market…make some noise, brother!

    Hope all is well with you.

    Dave

  2. April 24, 2006 at 10:46 am

    Dave, the MCE market has been quiet for me, yes. There are a couple of reasons for that, most importantly that MCE 2005 hasn’t advanced too much lately, and I haven’t done much yet with Vista since the latest beta builds don’t yet support extenders. My family would kill me if I switched right now.

    Here’s the shortlist of what I’ll be working on in the near future WRT media center:
    1. Bring up vista, test, comment
    2. Buy an HDTV, play with OTA and firewire connection hacks (officially HDTV is not supported in canada)
    3. Play with some divx tools

    Bottom line, we’re at a transition point with MCE. 2005 is not advancing too much right now, especially for the canadian market, and Vista is still under development.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

