Home > Travel > Ever had an ear that wouldn’t pop?

Ever had an ear that wouldn’t pop?

Wow, I landed in Minneapolis about two hours ago and this ear still will not pop.  I seem to be getting another cold, and my left ear just would not release the pressure on descent.  I’m a seasoned traveler and I think I know all of the tricks but the darn thing just won’t pop!  And let me tell you, it’s no fun checking into a hotel where your reservation is screwed up (my fault not theirs) and trying to work through it partially deaf.  Oy, I hope this goes away soon!

Categories: Travel
  1. Anonymous
    May 26, 2006 at 6:21 pm

    I have the same problem except mine is a little different yesterday my ear just all of a sudden went slightly deaf (Right Ear) and it wouldn’t pop no matter what.Its really annoying this has never happened to me before my ears have popped fine on planes before but never went suddenly deaf any one got any ideas ??

  2. May 26, 2006 at 6:35 pm

    I’m not a medical expert by any means, all I can do is tell you how this story ended. The deafness lasted for several days, and I developed a really nasty cold about one day into the deafness. As the cold went away, so did the deafness. I think it was all about congestion for me, decongestants seemed to help a bit.

  3. Allison
    December 7, 2006 at 5:05 pm

    I had the same thing happen to me while I was desecnding into Minneapolis, too! For me, it lasted a week, so I eventually went to the doctor. It turned out that, somehow, on the plane I had developed an inner-ear infection and that’s why it wouldn’t pop. I had to be on antibiotics for a week before it finally popped, but it was such a relief!

  1. August 6, 2006 at 11:35 am

Leave a Reply

