Home > Front Page, Uncategorized > Discrimination is against the charter of rights and freedoms, unless you use math

Discrimination is against the charter of rights and freedoms, unless you use math

My brother-in-law Jason started law school three years ago and I tasked him with a personal mission of mine.  To me, charging different insurance rates based solely on age or sex seems to fly in the face of most discrimination law that I know of.  It’s discrimination so pervasive that we don’t even notice it, but it drives me just nuts.

After three years of law school, Jason found me my answer in a case that was heard in 1992 by the supreme court of Canada.  The case was the province of Ontario versus Zurich Insurance, where an Ontario resident felt that he was discriminated against because he was a single young male and forced to pay more than the average for the same service.  In the end, the court voted 5-4 in favour of the insurance company stating that the exception is reasonable because it can be statistically proven.

Oh, now I’m mad!

At least it was a close call, that makes me feel somewhat better about life but I’m still not happy with the decision.  I expect that the vote would have swung the other way if the discrimation wasn’t beating up on such a socially acceptable group to put down – young males.  Discrimination of any sort is wrong in this case, and I almost hope that someone tries to open up an insurance company specializing in something less socially acceptable in order to bring this case back to the forefront.  Can you imagine how quickly this would get resolved if someone launched a radio ad campaign stating cheaper insurance for whites only, other races not need apply because we’ve statistically proven you’re more likely to get in an accident?

Argh!!!

If it’s wrong to discriminate based on race, sex, religion, or age then it’s wrong.  I don’t care if you can justify your stupid views and generalizations, judging me as an individual based solely on the colour of my skin or the number of y chromosomes in my blood is simply unethical.

Anyways, thanks Jay for finding the info for me.  Now… go fix it!

Categories: Front Page, Uncategorized
  1. Butters
    March 14, 2006 at 10:49 pm

    You mean to tell me that beccause some people have breasts that they get special treatment?

    Cover charge $10, ladies free.
    Chat lines expensive, ladies free.
    Insurance companies full of stuffy old white guys, women drive cheaper.

  2. The Brother-in-law
    March 16, 2006 at 10:36 am

    The insurance industry has changed drastically since this case. When the Supreme Court heard this case there was basically one rate for males and another for females. This case stated that the industry had to make a rate as statistically relevant as possible for each driver without assessing them individually. This is why they ask you for your driving record, where you live, etc so they can mold the stats as closely to you as possible. State Farm has an interesting idea to improve their statistics, (in the US at least) for every six months that you don’t get into an accident they reduce your premiums – seems fair. Unfortunately it is not perfect, but I believe that the Supreme Court today would overwhelmingly uphold this decision.

  3. Tim
    March 18, 2006 at 7:50 pm

    Having been a longtime friend of Peter’s, and one whom is also his age, I share his frustration.

    When Pete and I were sixteen, I paid more than double the insurance of my two sisters COMBINED. My oldest sister was also the principle driver on one vehicle, but that didn’t seem to matter.

    It could be worse though, couldn’t it, Pete? Remember your per kilometre gasoline fee from the parentals?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

