Home > Media Center > Where have I been for the last month?

Where have I been for the last month?

Everywhere but here is the answer.  I’ve been on the road for about a month, both pitching in during a resource crunch and realizing some major growth in my new job.  Last week I was chatting with Mike Garcen, actually asking a favor, and he was shocked to see that I was still indeed alive.
So what’s been happening in the last few weeks to catch up on?

  • Spent time in Calgary, Allentown, Birmingham, and Orlando on customer engagements for Open Text.  The good news here is that I got an opportunity to manage some project areas that were new to me and pick up some new skills, and got a real opportunity to galvanize my messaging in advance of the user conference (see below).
  • Talked with lots of customers about our new Livelink for Email Archiving, Management, and Monitoring products (that’s my new job BTW) at Live Linkup.
  • Microsoft and Open Text announced a strategic partnership, finally bringing together the two major parts of my technological existence.  And yes, I’ll be involved quite a bit in the products that come out of this partnership and bridging the gap between the two companies.
  • Katlyn got her first haircut, and lost most of her curly hair.  Like her mom, her hair started growing out straight after age two.
  • Wilfrid Laurier University Golden Hawks make it to Vanier Cup (the Canadian University Football national championship) for the first time since they last won it in 1991.  Jodie and I will be in the stands next week.
  • Went into sever withdrawl symptoms when my CrackBerry bit the bullet last week in Orlando.  And lucky for me since I’m never in the office I can’t pick up a replacement.  Still have the shakes, they need to make a patch for this.
  • Lots of XBox 360 news, getting ready for the launch on Tuesday.  I unfortunately won’t be getting one this week to play with, the budget’s just not there for it.
  • Media Center 2005 recorded TV output stopped working on the TV-Out, seems like little things like this always happen when I’m on the road.  An update of the ATI video driver and Nvidia decoder fixed it though.
  • Microsoft announced their CableLabs partnership, which means HDTV Digital Cable directly into MCE for those in the US.  Still no joy for us Canadians.
  • Saw my wife and kids once or twice.

Life will continue to be busy over the next month, so blog updates will remain pretty slow.  Let me know if there’s anything you’d like me to address specifically in the comments section here and I’ll see what I can do to address it.

Categories: Media Center
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

